FCHS inducts 11th Hall of Fame class


Last Saturday night the Fayette County High School Hall of Fame inducted its 11th class of inductees. This year’s class includes three athletes, one coach, and three distinguished alumni.  The Athletic inductees were:

• Wrestling Head Coach Jim Bailey.  Coach Bailey has been at FCHS since 1985 teaching English, coaching the wrestling team, and serving as an assistant coach for the football and track teams. Coach Bailey entered the 2010-2011 wrestling season with over 370 dual meet victories, four area coach of the year awards, and seven individual state champions.

• Football Player Jef Murchison (class of 1990). Murchison was a three-time letter winner in football and lettered in basketball twice at FCHS. Murchison was second team all region in football and basketball in 1990. He also lettered at Georgia Tech in 1992 and 1994. 

• Soccer Player John Davis (class of 1992).  Davis lettered in soccer all four years at FCHS and appeared in two state championship games (1991 and 1992).  Davis was an honorable mention All-American in 1992. He attended Berry College where he was a four year starter and won All-Region honors in 1997.

• Girls Soccer Player Jaime Corn Holland (class of 1998). Corn Holland was a four year letter winner in Soccer and appeared in three state final fours (1995, 1997, 1998). She was chosen to play in the GACA All-Star Senior Bowl in 1998. She went on to play for East Tennessee State in 1998 and 1999 before knee injuries cut her career short.

• Distinguished Alumna Sherry Bishop (class of 1984). While attending FCHS she was a member of the band, select chorus, drama, and tennis programs. After graduating from UGA in 1988 with a BA in Drama, Bishop initially returned to FCHS to teach drama from 1988-1997. She then went on to New York City where she has worked as an actor, director, and playwright. She also worked at the Julliard School, established a professional theatre company in Bramwell, West Virginia, and has been published on numerous occasions.

• Distinguished Alumnus Gary Teal (class of 1975). While attending FCHS he was a member of the football and golf teams as well as many student organizations. After earning a BBA and MBA from Georgia State, Teal found a home with Emory University for whom he has worked for 25 years. He is currently the Chief Administrative Officer for the Woodruff Health Sciences Center and Dean of the Woodruff Leadership Academy at Emory University. Teal volunteers at his church, Flat Creek Baptist and has volunteered for the Tyrone Baseball Association, the Fayette County Youth Basketball Association, and the Sandy Creek High School Football Booster Club.

• Distinguished Alumnus Col. (Ret.) William “Mac” Wilkinson (class of 1975).  Colonel Wilkinson attended US Army Ranger School in 1978 and quickly moved up the ranks in the US Army as an honor graduate of the Initial Entry Rotary Wing Flight School. He was assigned to the 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment and was selected to attend the Naval War College.  Colonel Wilkinson was an Aviation Battalion Commander in Germany and was selected for Brigade Command. He earned the US Army Ranger Tab, Master Army Aviator Wings, and the Air Assault Badge.

 Founded in 1999, the purpose of the Fayette County High School Hall of Fame is to:

• To recognize and preserve the heritage of Fayette County High School.

• To honor those persons who through distinguished achievement have excelled in one or more high school activity program sponsored by Fayette County High School.

• To keep alive the history, traditions and spirit of Fayette County High School.

The Fayette County High School Hall of Fame has inducted 106 alumni, coaches and administrators for their contributions to the school, our community, our state, our nation and the world.