Cross-country roundup


Landmark hosted its annual invitational last weekend with 15 teams fielding 81 boys and 42 girls in the varsity races. The girls competition was not close, with the host team fielding four of the top six finishers to win the team title by a wide margin. Kathryn Foreman (19:12) and Nicole Fegans (19:58) were the top two finishers overall and led the way for Landmark. Courtney Gilliam (23:22), Kaylin Deel (23:58) and Rebecca Moody (25:23) also contributed to the team score. Spencer Geerlings (18:09) placed third among the boys, while Joe Humphries (18:23) came in fifth and Austin Taylor (18:41) finished seventh.

Sandy Creek won the boys team title at in same meet, as Connor Dial (18:18) was fourth overall, Devin Hamill (18:44) came in eighth and Dominick Chontos (19:16) finished ninth. The Patriots scored 62 points to Landmark’s 71.

Whitewater placed tenth on the boys side in the Clara Bowl Invitational at Berry College. The Wildcats were led by John Raville (17:03), Parker Nail (17:31), Seamus Murrock (17:43), Don Harp (17:55) and Harry Harp (18:55). The Lady Wildcats came in 20th behind Alexis Smith (21:04), Alana Hood (21:37), Katie Kirkland (23:31), Channing Thomas (23:34) and Catherine Kuras (23:42).