Sandy Creek High School presents ‘Hairspray’


The Sandy Creek High School Chorus and Drama Departments will present the Broadway musical-comedy “Hairspray” onstage in Sandy Creek’s Patriot Hall, 360 Jenkins Rd., Tyrone, March 22 – 25, 2012.

Performances run Thursday, March 22, through Sunday, March 25. The Thursday, Friday, and Saturday performances are at 7 p.m. Sunday’s performance is a matinee, at 2:30 p.m. Tickets can be purchased in advance at SCHS for $7 or at the box office, beginning 30 minutes prior to each performance, for $10.

“Hairspray” is set in 1962 Baltimore, where plus-sized high school teen Tracy Turblad dreams of dancing on the local TV dance show, the “Corny Collins Show” (think “American Bandstand”). Tracy sports some impressive dance moves, learned while spending plenty of time in detention with several black students. When Tracy gets her big chance to dance on the show, she goes from social reject to instant celebrity. With her new-found popularity, Tracy campaigns to integrate the show so her black friends can join her on the whites-only TV show, no easy task in 1962.

“Hairspray” celebrates big dreams and big hair, winning eight Tony Awards in 2003, including Best Musical. The songs in “Hairspray” include 1960s-style dance music and rhythm-and-blues, including the hits “Good Morning Baltimore,” “Mama, I’m a Big Girl Now,” and “You Can’t Stop the Beat.”

The SCHS production is under the direction of Ms. Jonsie Pollock, community coach and choreographer, and Ms. Millie Turek, SCHS choral director. SCHS drama teacher Kathy Andersen is the technical director responsible for sets, props, lighting, and costumes. Mrs. Olive Ashley is also lending her talents as choreographer.

The musical troupe of 46 students has been preparing since pre-auditions in October 2011 to bring this show to the stage. Junior Ali Stebar and sophomore Courtney Justice share the leading role of Tracy Turnblad.

Seniors Lucas Sparks and Adam Van Dyke play Edna Turnblad and Link Larkin, respectively. Freshman Preston Earle is cast as Wilbur Turnblad, and junior Korin Blake-Chung and senior Khaja Mapp share the role of Motormouth Maybelle.

Other cast members include Andre Allen and Jerrell Melton (sharing the role of Seaweed Stubbs), Autumn Robertson (Lil’ Inez), Katelynn Dallman (Penny Pingleton), Sara Ledford (Prudy Pingleton), DeAnna McDuffie (Velma von Tussle), Ellie Klarl (Amber von Tussle), Brett Heard (Corny Collins), Jackson Mulhall (Harriman Spritzer), Sidney Harris, Virginia Jenkins, Jordan Powell, Ava Toro (The Dynamites), Alexsandra Diaz, Justin Duhon, Connor Fudge, Evie Hahn, Tea Lopez, Julian Orozco, Carlos Rojas, Heather Gordon (Councilmembers), and ensemble members Toi Allen, Taylor Brown, Callie Burks, Shenise Demons, Taylor Fields, Brittani Floyd, Jordan Guest, Jenna Hughes, Angela Johnson, Tikenya Joseph, Jamarcus Mathis, Jacorey Moon, Jazmine Moreland, Keiria Saulsberry, Lauriel Stewart, Karah Thompson, Ashley Wojcik, and Joy Young.

“Hairspray” is based on the 1988 New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters. The musical book was written by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan. The music was composed by Marc Shaiman, and lyrics were written by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman. “Hairspray” is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI).