Early voting begins for council races in Fayetteville, Peachtree City and Tyrone


The Citizen presents questions and answers from local candidates — 

Those wanting to get a leg-up on the Nov. 5 election can take advantage of early voting for City Council races in Peachtree City, Fayetteville and Tyrone that begin Oct. 14. If needed, the runoff date will be Dec. 3.

Early voting will begin Oct. 14 at three locations and will extend, Monday through Friday, for three weeks. Those locations include the Peachtree City and Tyrone libraries and the county elections office at 140 Stonewall Avenue in Fayetteville.

Early voting for the first two weeks (Oct. 14-18 and Oct. 21-25) will be held from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Early voting on the third week (Oct. 28 – Nov. 1) will be held from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m.

The responses to our questions for candidates in Tyrone and Fayetteville are now posted online: Tyrone Post 1, Tyrone Post 2, Fayetteville Post 1 and Fayetteville Post 2.

Responses from candidates for the two posts being decided in Peachtree City are as follows: Click here to read about Council Post 1 and Council Post 2.

Voters in the races for two council seats in the Peachtree City will see multiple candidates on the ballot.

In the Post 1 race, the contest will feature incumbent Phil Prebor, Morgan Hallmon (retired) and Oobie Childs (home stager and Realtor).

The Post 2 race will include incumbent Mike King, Steven Newton (attorney) and Darryl Csicsila.

A runoff election will be required in Peachtree City unless one candidate for each seat gets 50 percent plus one.

In Fayetteville, the two council seats up for election will also see contested elections.

The Post 1 race, incumbent Harlan Shirley will face Darryl Langford (retired military) and Philip Onyedumekwu (cab driver), though he did not attend the recent candidate forum and has not responded to information requests by The Citizen.

In the Post 2 race, incumbent Kathaleen Brewer will face Oyin Mitchell (business owner), Kevin Pratt, II (sales manager) and Joe Clark (airline industry and city planning commissioner).

A runoff election will be required in Fayetteville unless one candidate for a seat gets 50 percent of the vote plus one.

Voters in Tyrone will also see multiple candidates on the ballot.

The Post 1 race will have David Barlow (transportation driver) facing incumbent Linda Howard.

The Post 2 race will feature three candidates. Those include Billy Campbell (retired), Michael Edwards (pastor) and Melissa Hill (real estate and film coordinator). Councilman Ryan Housley did not run for re-election.

There is no runoff election in Tyrone, with the simple majority winner taking the seat.

Races that require a runoff will have that election on Dec. 3.