Fayette County Schools announce nominees for 2022 Teacher of the Year


Twenty-five teachers from the Fayette County Public School System have been nominated to represent their school in the 2022 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition.

The teachers were selected by their peers through a voting process that took place at the schools. Each school-level teacher of the year is now a nominee for the 2022 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition and will complete an essay-style application about their teaching styles, objectives, and classroom initiatives.

The applications will be rated by a three-person panel consisting of last year’s Fayette County Teacher of the Year winner, Emily Hodge of McIntosh, and two retired educators.

The teachers with the three top scores will become finalists in the competition and will take part in a final judging stage that includes an on-site classroom visit and interview with the judges. The winner will be announced at the annual Fayette County Teacher of the Year Ceremony.

The following teachers are nominees for the 2022 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition:

Donna Buffington, Braelinn Elementary

Beverly Carter, Cleveland Elementary

Shannon Knowles, Crabapple Lane Elementary

Renee Callier, Fayetteville Elementary

Julie Powell, Huddleston Elementary

Emily Fugate, Inman Elementary

Angela Thompson, Kedron Elementary

Kara Harrison, North Fayette Elementary

Jena Evans, Oak Grove Elementary

April Morgan, Peachtree City Elementary

Cassie Shockley, Peeples Elementary

Kayla Powell, Robert J. Burch Elementary

Jodii Gorski, Sara Harp Minter Elementary

Ashley Hargreaves, Spring Hill Elementary

Joy Do, Bennett’s Mill Middle

Nateil Carby, Flat Rock Middle

Courtney Colwell, JC Booth Middle

Christy Todd, Rising Starr Middle

Matt Mundok, Whitewater Middle

Debbie Adams, Fayette County High

Melissa Holt, McIntosh High

Patience Douglas, Sandy Creek High

Robin Huggins, Starr’s Mill High

Jennifer Fausett, Whitewater High

Dale Tysor, Fayette LIFE Academy