The Fayette County Counselors Association has named the 2020 Fayette County School Counselor of the Year for elementary, middle and high school, as well as the Advocate of the Year.

Maria Sherrod of Fayetteville Elementary, Gary Siliski of Rising Starr Middle, and LeeAnn Belknap of McIntosh High are this year’s school counselor winners.

In addition to naming the school counselors of the year, the Fayette County School Counselors Association also recognizes a person outside of school counseling who has contributed to the success of school counselors throughout the county. This year’s advocate, Karen Powell, wears many hats as she is the secretary of the school system’s career and technical education program, work-based learning program, and counseling & career development.

The School Counselor of the Year Award honors the best of the best, counselors who are running a top-notch, comprehensive school counseling program at the elementary, middle and high school level.

Nominations for the award are made by fellow counselors and are based upon the recognition of qualities that include the counselor’s effectiveness, dedication to the position, and the level of support the individual provides to students. Counselors also submit nominations for the person they feel deserves to be named advocate of the year.