Runoffs ahead for Peachtree City mayor, council post

Peachtree City mayoral runoff candidates Eric Imker (L) and Vanessa Fleisch.

Fayette E-SPLOST sails to easy victory; Turin mayor wins by 1 vote in Nov. 7 election results

Voters in Fayette and Coweta counties had their say on Nov. 7 in a number of municipal elections and two 1-percent sales tax votes. Only Peachtree City will see a Dec. 5 runoff election for both mayor and the Post 3 council seat.

In Peachtree City, voters gave Mayor Vanessa Fleisch 43.25 percent (2,517 votes) of the vote, while former City Councilman Eric Imker received 30.92 percent (1,799 votes) and business owner Dar Thompson garnered 25.66 percent (1,493 votes).

The results will mean a runoff election between Fleisch and Imker to be held Dec. 5. The polling place will be announced by the Fayette County Elections Department at a later date.

Also in Peachtree City, the three-way race for the Post 3 council seat will feature a Dec. 5 runoff election. Candidate Kevin Madden received 2,144 votes (40.14 percent), while former Mayor Harold Logsdon tallied 1,730 votes (32.39 percent) and student Sarah Toussaint received 1,442 votes (27 percent). That puts Madden and Logsdon in the Dec. 5 runoff.

The voter turnout rate in Peachtree City was 24.22 percent.

In Tyrone, incumbent Post 3 council member Ken Matthews won with 669 votes (66.11 percent) to challenger Eric Woods’ 338 votes (33.4 percent).

Tyrone had a voter turnout rate of 20.12 percent.

In Fayetteville Post 4 race, Rich Hoffman won the seat in the county’s other three-way race. Hoffman had 685 votes (60.57 percent), while Brett Nolan received 273 votes (24.14 percent) and Gha-is Bashir Paige got 168 votes (14.85 percent). In total, 10.09 percent of Fayetteville voters went to the polls.

Across Fayette, voters approved a five-year continuation of the education special purpose local option sales tax by a nearly 2-to-1 margin. There were 7,098 votes (63.84 percent) in the “Yes” column, and 4,021 votes (36.16 percent) opposed. The E-SPLOST vote had a 14.33 percent turnout.

In Senoia, City Council Post 1 candidate Chuck Eichorst beat Tom Malone 247 votes (62.53 percent) to 146 ( 36.96 percent). For Senoia Council Post 2, William Pearman had 275 votes (73.53 percent) to 97 votes (25.94 percent) for Gregory Lanman.

Senoia had a 15.1 percent voter turnout.

In Sharpsburg, the Post 2 council race between incumbent Clay Cole and challenger Cynthia Puckett-Pike resulted in Puckett-Pike winning the contest 32 votes to 31.

Sharpsburg had a 29.5 percent voter turnout.

In Turin, the race for mayor turned on one vote. Incumbent Alan D. Starr edged Tony Crunkleton 68 votes to 67 votes.

Turin had a 51.5 percent voter turnout.

Coweta voters also approved the continuation of the SPLOST by a margin of 3,381 votes (65.03 percent) to 1,818 votes (34.9 percent).

Countywide for the SPLOST, Coweta had a 6.04 percent voter turnout.