3 to run for PTC mayor, 3 to vie for Learnard’s open post


Senoia will get a new mayor; Tyrone, Fayetteville each has 1 contested council race

Qualifying in Peachtree City for the mayor’s seat are incumbent Vanessa Fleisch, former Councilman Eric Imker and business owner Dar Thompson.

Qualifying for the Post 3 seat currently held by Councilwoman Kim Learnard are former Mayor Harold Logdson, business owner Kevin Madden and student Sarah Toussaint.

Councilman Terry Ernst had no opposition for the Post 4 seat he currently holds.

Three political newcomers will face off for Fayetteville Council Post 4, after current Councilman Jim Williams announced he would not be seeking re-election.

The three candidates are:

• Gha-is Bashir Paige, who works as a transportation security office.

• Rich Hoffman, who owns a local tire company.

• Brett Nolan, who lists his occupation as a chief operating officer.

Incumbents Paul Oddo and Scott Stacy did not draw any candidates to oppose them.

In Tyrone, the Post 3 council seat will see a contested race. Incumbent Ken Matthews will face challenger Eric Woods, a military retiree.

Incumbent Gloria Furr has no challengers, so she will serve another term in the Post 4 seat.

In Sharpsburg, the only contested race will feature Post 2 incumbent Clay Cole and challenger Cynthia Puckett-Pike.

When the qualifying dust had settled Wednesday afternoon, Senoia residents learned who would lead the city into the future.

Mayor Larry Owens is retiring, and Councilman Jeff Fisher was the only candidate who qualified for the position.

For the post that Fisher is leaving, air traffic controller William “Dub” Pearman qualified, along with public health advisor Gregory Lanman.

In Post 1, incumbent Chuck Eichorst will face off against Tom Malone. His Facebook page lists him as retired.

The election is Nov. 7. — Reported by Ben Nelms and John Thompson.

news_08-30-17_Candidates Fleisch-Thompson_others_original