Peachtree City Optimist Club honors exemplary students


The Peachtree City Optimist Club recently held its annual Youth Appreciation Banquet at Flat Creek Country Club. The banquet is part of Optimist Youth Appreciation Week and each year students from the Fayette County area are selected by their school counselors/teachers to be honored for their outstanding contributions to their schools and community.

Students must meet the criteria set forth by the Optimist Club, which encourages, leadership skills, academics, volunteerism, participation in school organizations, community improvement projects and exemplifies optimism.

Club members joined the students, their family members and their nominators to celebrate the many accomplishments of these outstanding students. Congratulations to all of the students that were honored

The Peachtree Optimist Club meets on the first and third Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m. at the Downtown Grill. Contact Stony Lohr, club president, at 678-485-1412 for more information about joining the Optimist Club of Peachtree City.

Honored students and adult leaders include (shown, L to R, front row): Jess Ward, Starr’s Mill High School; Ellianna Wade, J.C. Booth Middle School; Matthew Smith, Whitewater Middle School; William Silloway, Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School; Kyra Parks, Whitewater High School; Qi Ru Lin, Rising Starr Middle School; Darius Hightower, Fayette County High School; Sienna Hall, Flat Rock Middle School; Bailey Geter, Sandy Creek High School; Hope Didier, McIntosh High School and Magan Briscoe, Bennett’s Mill Middle School, and (L to R, back row) Sean Hickey, Starr’s Mill High School; Sonya Tucker, J.C. Booth Middle School; Kay Young, Whitewater Middle School; Ana DeMello, Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School; Tanji Hopper, Whitewater High School; Debbie Barrett, Rising Starr Middle School; Dr. Carolyn McDermott, Fayette County High School; Dionne Maddox, Flat Rock Middle School; Vivian Dunn, Sandy Creek High School; Hope Huey, McIntosh High School and Christy Ciccone and Mary Beth Grabhorn, Bennett’s Mill Middle School.