Fayette County Schools announce nominees for 2023 Teacher of the Year


Twenty-five teachers from Fayette County Public Schools have been nominated to represent their schools in the 2023 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition.

The teachers were selected by their peers through a voting process that took place at the schools. Each school-level teacher of the year is now a nominee for the 2023 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition and will complete an essay-style application about their teaching styles, objectives, and classroom initiatives.

The applications will be rated by a three-person panel consisting of last year’s Fayette County Teacher of the Year winner, Christy Todd of Rising Starr Middle, and two retired educators.

The teachers with the three top scores will become finalists in the competition and will take part in a final judging stage that includes an on-site classroom visit and interview with the judges. The winner will be announced at the annual Fayette County Teacher of the Year Ceremony.

The following teachers are nominees for the 2023 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition (listed by school in alphabetical order):

Kelly Miles, Braelinn Elementary

Crystal Legrand, Cleveland Elementary

Lynn Williams, Crabapple Lane Elementary

Heather Stogsdill, Fayetteville Elementary

Meredith Mazzillo, Huddleston Elementary

Anessa Owens, Inman Elementary

Nicole Thomas, Kedron Elementary

Freddie Lawrence, North Fayette Elementary

Lauren Toering, Oak Grove Elementary

Julie Weida, Peachtree City Elementary

Dr. Angela Brown, Peeples Elementary

McKenzie Ellis, Robert J. Burch Elementary

Amy Hudson, Sara Harp Minter Elementary

Michelle Shaw, Spring Hill Elementary

Kevin Anderson, Bennett’s Mill Middle

Sarah Thompson, Flat Rock Middle

Victoria Hunt, JC Booth Middle

Jamie Carson, Rising Starr Middle

Steven Charity, Whitewater Middle

Ayesha Denny, Fayette County High

Bree Heaton, McIntosh High

Jill Lloyd, Sandy Creek High

Jennifer Devine, Starr’s Mill High

Shelley Kozlowski, Whitewater High

Calvin Maddox, Fayette LIFE Academy

— Provided by the Fayette County School System.