Fayette sets 2020 qualifying fees for local offices


Qualifying fees for the numerous local elections to be held later this year were approved Jan. 9 by the Fayette County Commission.

As usual every four years, the races will include three seats each on the Fayette County Commission and the Fayette County Board of Education.

The districts on the commission up for election include the Post 2 seat held by Commission Chairman Randy Ognio, the District 1 seat held by Commissioner Eric Maxwell and the District 5 (at-large) seat held by Commissioner Charles Oddo.

The school board seats up for election include the District 3 seat held by Chairman Scott Hollowell, the District 1 seat held by board member Barry Marchman and the District 5 (at-large) seat held by board member Brian Anderson.

Qualifying fees for the various races are:

Board of Education, Districts 1, 3 and 5 – $306

Clerk of Superior Court – $2,173.02

County Commission Districts 1, 2 and 5 – $625.01

Coroner – $244.50

Probate Court Judge – $2,173.02

Magistrate Judge – $530.31

Sheriff – $2,424.59

Solicitor General – State Court – $3,712.62

Tax Commissioner- $2,173.02


  1. It might be useful to point out that these amounts are normally set by law as 3% of the annual salary for the position. Thus you divide by .03, and you get the salary. (The value of employee benefits is not included.) The purpose of the fee, at least in part, is believed to be to discourage frivolous applications for the job.