Ognio wins chairmanship of commission, Edge sworn in

Fayette Commission Chairman Randy Ognio. File photo.
Fayette Commission Chairman Randy Ognio. File photo.

The first meeting of 2019 for the Fayette County Commission included election of the new chairman and vice-chairman and the swearing-in of newly-elected Commissioner Edward “Edge” Gibbons and returning Commissioner Charles Rousseau.

First up at the meeting were the public swearing-in ceremonies by Fayette County Probate Judge Ann Jackson for newly-elected District 3 Commissioner Edge Gibbons. Gibbons replaces former Commissioner Steve Brown who did not run for re-election. Gibbons in the 2018 primary defeated former Peachtree City Mayor Don Haddix and Peachtree City Councilman Eric Imker without the need for a runoff election.

District 4 Commissioner Charles Rousseau took the oath of office next, having been re-elected to his seat and without facing opposition in the 2018 races.

With the full board in place, the meeting moved on to the election of the chairman and vice-chairman for 2019.

The election process came quickly, with Commissioner Randy Ognio being elected chairman on a 4-0 vote.

Also elected on a 4-0 vote was Commissioner Chuck Oddo, to serve as vice-chairman.