Fayette Chamber honors leaders

(L-R) Carlotta Ungaro, Carolyn Cary, Debbie Britt.
‘Dreambuilder’ Virgil Fludd
‘Dreambuilder’ Virgil Fludd

And in the end, it came down to the beginnings. On a spring-like evening Saturday, more than 400 of Fayette’s business and community glitterati packed the Crowne Plaza in Peachtree City to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Fayette Chamber of Commerce. The event brought together many past Chamber board chairs, members, elected officials and community leaders who played a large role in Chamber accomplishments since 1967. One of the highlights of the evening was honoring Fayette’s historian Carolyn Cary, who played a pivotal role in getting the Chamber established in the 1960s.

The Chamber announced the Dreambuilders Award would be renamed the Carolyn Cary Dreambuilder Award in honor of her untiring work and devotion to the organization. Cary hosted the first Chamber meetings in her living room in the late 1960s and continues to be a vital resource to the Chamber and Fayette County today.

The announcement was greeted with a prolonged standing ovation, and a few tears from Cary. To read more about her reaction, see her column on Page C1.

J.D. and Varner Holmes.
J.D. and Varner Holmes.

The evening reflected on some of the Chamber’s pivotal work through the years that benefitted the county. A video, which will be available on the Chamber website, was shown to highlight successes through the years, including promoting local business, fostering economic development and attracting a hospital to the county. Chamber member businesses were recognized as

the reason that the organization has become a respected organization in the county.

“This Chamber was formed in 1967 because the founding members of the Fayette Chamber knew that they could accomplish more for this community working together,” said Debbie Britt, 2016 Fayette Chamber Board Chair in a press release.

“That is still the case today as this Chamber serves as a collaborator to connect business and community. This organization will continue to build on the past to define a bright future for business in Fayette.”

In addition to honoring the history of the last 50 years, the Fayette Chamber handed out its annual awards for excellence in business and service to the community. The

Matt Ramsey.
Matt Ramsey.

following awards were given:

  • Young Professional of the Year: Wyatt Martin, TCIS-The Complete Insurance Source.
  • Ambassador of the Year: Carol Jensen-Linton; New Neighbors League.
  • Chet Wells Award for Chamber Service: Dr. Tim Hynes, Clayton State University.
  • Carolyn Cary Dreambuilder Award for Community Service: Virgil Fludd, former District 64 Georgia House Representative.
  • Nonprofit Excellence Award: Real Life Center, Executive Director Cathy Berggren.
  • Small Business of the Year: Fitness 54, owners J.D. and Varner Holmes.
  • Outstanding Business Person of the Year: Matt Ramsey, Warner, Hooper & Ramsey, former District 72 Georgia House Representative.