9th annual Miss Whitewater Pageant starts Thursday


The 9th annual Miss Whitewater High School Scholarship Pageant will be held February 2, 3, and 4 at 7 p.m. in the Whitewater High School Theater. The pageant is an annual fundraiser for the Whitewater Choral Department and will again award thousands of dollars in college scholarships.

There are 27 contestants competing for the scholarships and the honor of being crowned Miss Whitewater 2012. This year’s contestants are Jessica Nestor, Mattie Keaton, Breanna Sommers, Farhin Lilywala, Madison Mueller, LeAndrea Holliday, Laura Dudley, Ashleigh Lester, Kyndal Kearns, Caree Campbell, Taylor Birkhead, Jordan Banks, Tori Murry, Tiffany Hunter, Bria Cheney, Breanna Jones, Channing Thomas, Elly Clayton, Katherine Jordan, Ella Sivertsen, Kylie Addison, Ragan Pollack, Meagan McCastle, Elizabeth Weatherup, Katie Blankenship, Lindsey Needham and Samantha Krenson.

On Thursday and Friday evening, the contestants are divided into two group. On Thursday, Group A performs their talent and the Group B has interviews with a panel of judges. On Friday, the two group swap and group B performs their talents and group A has their interviews with the judges’ panel.

On Saturday evening, the contestants come together to be scored in the areas of on-stage introductions and evening wear.

Based on the cumulative scores, the top seven contestants will be chosen. These ladies will be asked an on-stage question by the judges. The score from the on-stage answer will be added to the prior scores and the winners will be chosen.

Scholarships will be awarded to Miss Whitewater ($1,000), 1st Runner up ($500) and 2nd Runner up ($250).

Additional awards will be presented in several categories including People’s Choice, Best Talent, Best Interview and Best Evening Gown.

Please join us as these talented ladies vie for the title of Miss Whitewater 2012.