Whitewater Middle repeats as county football champs


The young Wildcats are back on top of the county. With a 32-0 win over Flat Rock, Whitewater Middle scored their second-straight county middle school football championship.

The title is the culmination of back-to-back undefeated seasons for the Wildcats.

“It is very difficult to win a football championship in Fayette County. The other programs have excellent coaches who work hard every day, so back-to-back championships are special,” said Whitewater coach Matt Mundok. “I am proud of the players, and it was awesome to watch them celebrate with their friends and families.”

The champions are coached by Mundok, Tom Baker, Tom Halpin, Andy Smith, Ryan Frisch, and Mitch Blankenship.

The winning Wildcats are Mark Williamson, Zyion Banks, Kaeden Glass, Case Roberts, Parker More, Bryce Alexander, Nathan Martin, David Casey, Elijah Nelson, Matthew Mangin, Grant Curtis, Khahari Crooks, Will Sams, Payne Phillips, Jediah Romage, Landon Fasci, Malcolm Marks, Loryn Einora, Aiden Mathis, Elijah Hughes, Toby Harrell, Chase Davenport, Michael LeBlanc, Brian McCrary, Jimmie Seals, Micah Barnes, Riley Black, Jacob Ross, Marco Filotei, Everett Scott, Javon Washington, David Duru, Shaun Carvalho, Jeremiah Fletcher, Jaden Clemons, Caleb Garcia, Harris Hill, Ethan Peters, Raphael Williams, Isaac Ross, Jackson Hudgins, Matthew Taylor, Nathan Sanders, Zion Preston, Matthew Hill, Chandler Smith, Micah Tucker, Reid Mathis, Ryan Hood, Joseph Calderon, Braydon Marrero, Colin Henry, Ty Vazquez, Kai Roland, Angelo Carrasco, Hasan Abdur-Rahman, Will Garner, Kamden Kitchens, Cayson Corley, Hayden Candy, Bryson Edwards, Brandon Smith, Michael Temples, Darren Taylor, Armond Blackmon, Willie Hicks, and Nathaniel Torres.

“They are special because of their willingness to work and improve every game and every practice. They put in the work to get better day after day. It really is a grind,” said Mundok. “They are great kids, and I am super proud of them.”