Sandy Creek students earn College Board recognition


Sandy Creek High students know how to make their mark when they’re put to the test. Based on their exemplary SAT scores, an impressive number of Patriots are honored as scholars in College Board National Recognition Programs.

Seven Patriots are designated as College Board National Rural and Small Town Recognition Program Scholars. Honorees are Aaron Bryant, Alexis Brodie, Ashlee Taylor, Demarcus Ramirez, Folashade Famakinwa, Kennedy Bynoe, and Lauren Turner.

Aaron Bryant, Alexis Brodie, Ashlee Taylor, Demarcus Ramirez, and Kennedy Bynoe are also College Board National African American Recognition Program Scholars.

Demarcus Ramirez is also a College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar.

The College Board, which administers the PSAT and SAT among its activities, recognizes academic excellence through its National Recognition Programs. Students selected for the prestigious honor can cite it on their college and scholarship applications. In turn, colleges use the listing of this honor as a way of identifying students from underrepresented groups who have excelled on their PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10, or AP Exams and in their classwork.