Sen. Marty Harbin appointed chairman of Senate Government Oversight Committee


Sen. Marty Harbin (R—Tyrone) has been appointed to serve as chairman of the Senate Government Oversight Committee.

“I am honored to be selected by Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan and the Senate Committee on Assignments to serve as Chairman of the Senate Government Oversight Committee,” said Sen. Harbin. “Our state government has a responsibility to ensure that your tax dollars are allocated fairly and that government institutions and programs do not overstep their constitutional bounds. I am looking forward to the great work this committee will accomplish and know that each member of our committee will lend their time and expertise towards refining each bill we will consider.”

In addition to serving as Chairman of the Senate Government Oversight Committee, Sen. Harbin will also serve as Secretary of the Insurance and Labor Committee and as a member of the Appropriations, Natural Resources and the Environment, and Reapportionment and Redistricting Committees.

“These committee chairs are uniquely qualified to develop real and lasting solutions aimed at building a better Georgia,” said Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan. “The Senate will continue to prioritize diligent committee work and sound public policy, and I look forward to working closely with each one of our chairs, and their committee members, as we work to enact policies that advance both the lives and livelihoods of all Georgians.”

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a committee, depending on its topic. If the committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration. The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The 156th Georgia General Assembly convened on January 11, and is in session at the Georgia state Capitol.

Sen. Harbin represents the 16th Senate District which includes Lamar, Spalding and Pike counties and a portion of Fayette County. He may be reached at 404-656-0078 or by email at