Special election set for district attorney, Griffin Judicial Circuit


Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger this week announced Feb. 9 will be the date of the special election required for the Griffin Judicial Circuit District Attorney, which became vacant due to the appointment of The Honorable Ben Coker to the Superior Court of the Griffin Judicial Circuit.

The special election will be held on February 9, 2020 for the county in circuit, which includes Fayette, Pike, Spalding, and Upson counties. A run-off, if needed, will be held on March 9, 2021.

Qualifying for the Griffin Judicial Circuit District Attorney special election ended at 1:00 p.m., Dec. 18. The qualifying fee is $3,674.20.

Monday, January 11, 2021 is the last day to register to vote for the special election. Advance in-person absentee voting will begin on Monday, January 18, 2021.