Ben Miller sworn in as superior court judge

Superior Court Judge Ben J. Miller Jr.
Superior Court Judge Ben J. Miller Jr.

Honorable Ben J. Miller Jr., was sworn to the Superior Court of the Griffin Judicial Circuit by Governor Brian Kemp, June 3, 2020.

Upon Judge Miller’s appointment, the Governor stated, “In a competitive selection process, Ben Miller Jr. clearly stood out among the candidates, and I am honored to appoint him to serve on the Griffin Judicial Circuit Superior Court. He has the right credentials, temperament, and willingness to serve, and I know that he will excel as member of the Judiciary.”

Judge Miller earned his bachelor’s degree from North Georgia College and law degree from John Marshall Law. He was in the general private practice of law for 13 years. He has served as Solicitor, Juvenile Court Judge pro tempore, Municipal Court Judge, and Associate Juvenile Court Judge.

Most recently Judge Miller has served Fayette County and the Griffin Judicial Circuit as the Chief Judge of Juvenile Court for the last 12 years. The Griffin Judicial Circuit comprises Fayette, Spalding, Pike and Upson Counties.

When asked about the appointment, he stated, “I look forward to transitioning into the Superior Court and I am glad that I have the opportunity to continue to serve the citizens of Fayette County. I will continue to strive to be fair, consistent and decisive. Now that we have a full staff of judges, we look forward to aggressively tackling the backlog of cases caused by the Covid-19 crisis and providing timely judicial services for the citizens of our circuit.

His appoinment follows in the footsteps of his father, Ben Miller Sr. The elder Miller became the second full-time district attorney for the Griffin Circuit in the late 1960s, following the appointment of his successor Andrew J. Whalen, to the single superior court judgeship in the circuit.

The elder Miller later was appointed to become the second superior court judge and served for many years with Judge Whalen. Judge Miller Sr. later became senior judge in the circuit and retired from the bench at the end of 2002. He died in 2009.