Fayette School Board, County Commission posts to have multiple contenders


A number of candidates qualified for local Republican races in the May 19 primary, especially in races for seats on the Fayette County Commission and Fayette County Board of Education. The Nov. 3 general election will have a number of local and state races featuring Democratic and Republican opponents, along with two Independent candidates running for school board seats.

Republican candidates for the District 1 seat on the Fayette County Commission include incumbent Eric Maxwell and business owner Sonja Gibson.

The Democratic candidate qualifying for the District 1 seat was Realtor Vickie Butler.

Republicans qualifying for the District 2 seat on the County Commission include incumbent Randy Ognio and senior design engineer Lee Hearn.

Three Republicans qualified for the District 5 (at-large) seat on the commission. Those included incumbent Charles Oddo, retired physician William Yarde and business owner Leigh Ann Wittenberg.

The Democratic candidate qualifying for the District 5 seat was writer and retired teacher William Lightle.

Qualifying as a Republican for the District 1 seat on the Fayette Board of Education was financial services provider Randy Hough. Board member Barry Marchman did not qualify, and thus is serving out his term that ends Dec. 31 this year.

The Democratic qualifier for the District 1 seat is mental health care manager Candice Aaron.

Four Republicans qualified for the District 3 seat on the school board. Those include incumbent Scott Hollowell, former board member Marion Key, CPA and former ESPLOST committee Chairman Cornelius (Neil) Sullivan and educator Martha Blanchard.

The District 5 (at-large) seat on the school board had two Republican qualifiers. Those included incumbent Brian Anderson and retiree Robert Michael Krehbiel.

Qualifying as the Democratic candidate for the District 5 seat was student Catherine S. Remke.

In the race for State Senate District 16, Republican incumbent Marty Harbin qualified, as did Democrat and self-employed candidate Cinquez Jester.

For the State House District 63 seat, Democrat incumbent Debra Bazemore (Riverdale) will face retired Democratic challenger Kenneth “Ken” Kincaid in the primary and Republican challenger David Callahan (College Park), a part-time driver, in November.

State Rep. Derrick Jackson was the only qualifier for his District 64 seat.

The District 71 House seat had three qualifiers. Those included Republican incumbent Philip Singleton (Sharpsburg) and Republican challenger and educator Marcy Westmoreland Sakrison (Newnan).

Qualifying as a Democrat for the District 71 House seat was Peachtree City’s head librarian Jill Prouty, who lives in Newnan.

The District 72 House seat had two qualifiers, one from each party. Incumbent Republican Josh Bonner (Peachtree City) will face Democrat challenger and nurse practitioner Fred Rovner in November.

The District 73 House seat also had two qualifiers. Those included incumbent Republican Karen Mathiak (Griffin), who will face Democrat challenger and regulatory compliance specialist William Harris in November.

Three Fayette County Magistrate Judge seats, all non-partisan, will be contested in November.

The District 1 seat will have incumbent Christy Dunkelberger facing attorney Pamela Patterson.

The District 2 seat will feature incumbent Kathy Brown Valencia facing attorney Sheila S. Huddleston.

The District 4 seat will have incumbent James A. White facing attorney Natalie Ashman.

In the race for Solicitor General, incumbent Republican Jamie Inagawa will face Audrey Holliday, also a Republican, who previously worked in the solicitor’s office.

Two people qualified for Fayette County Sheriff. Incumbent Republican Barry Babb will face Democratic challenger and law enforcement officer Chris Pigors in November.

Beyond the political primary contests on May 19, Democratic and Republican candidates will square-off in the general election on Nov. 3.

Also in the November election, Independent candidate and software engineer Danny Dolan is running for the District 1 seat on the school. Also running, for the District 3 school board seat is Independent candidate and clinical therapist Charles “Chuck” Lenahan.

Per Georgia law, Independent candidates during the summer must provide a petition signed by at least 5 percent of the total registered voters eligible to vote in the most recent election for that seat.


  1. Here is your official Voter Guide to Make Fayette Great Again!

    County Commission:
    District 1: Eric Maxwell
    District 2: Randy Ognio. Lee Hearn is a great guy, but Randy had done a great job and deserves to keep his seat.
    District 5: Charles Oddo. He has done a good job. But if you want a change, neuro surgeon William Yarde would be an interesting 2nd choice that would bring a fresh perspective from his profession.

    Board of Education:
    District 1: Randy Hough is the right one for the job.
    District 3: Martha Blanchard is far and away the best candidate. Get to know her.
    District 5: Brian Anderson will run away with it. This will not be close. Other candidates are wasting their time and money.

    Senate District 16: Marty Harbin is working hard for his district, he should win handily.
    State House District 63: David Callahan will give Bazemore a good run.
    State House District 64: Derrick Jackson
    State House District 71: Phillip Singleton. Marcy relies too heavily on her daddy and his friends to tell her what to do and think. Phillip is his own person and knows what he believes in. Watch their debates. Pick Singleton.
    District 72: Josh Bonner by a landslide
    District 73: Karen Mathiak by a landslide

    FC Magistrate Keep the incumbents. They work well together and do a great job.
    District 1 Christy Dunkelberger
    District 2 Kathy Brown Valencia
    District 4 James A. White

    Solicitor General: Jamie Inagawa

    Sheriff: Barry Babb has the character and experience we need to keep Fayette safe.