Fayette schools announce nominees for 2020 Teacher of the Year


Twenty-six teachers from the Fayette County Public School System have been nominated to represent their school in the 2020 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition.

The teachers were selected by their peers through a voting process that took place at the schools in October. Each school-level teacher of the year is now a nominee for the 2020 teacher of the year competition and will complete an essay-style application about their teaching styles, objectives and classroom initiatives. The applications will be rated by a three-person panel consisting of last year’s Fayette County Teacher of the Year winner, Michael Wamsley from Robert J. Burch Elementary, and two retired educators.

The teachers with the three top scores will become finalists in the competition and will take part in a final judging stage that includes an onsite classroom visit and interview with the judges. The winner will be announced April 16 at the annual Fayette County Teacher of the Year Ceremony at New Hope Baptist Church, South Campus, starting at 6 p.m.

The following teachers are nominees for the 2020 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition:

  • Renee Fitzsimmons, Braelinn Elementary
  • Leslie Gable, Cleveland Elementary
  • Mark McCloud, Crabapple Elementary
  • Jennifer Shimshick, Fayetteville Elementary
  • Kari Boyle, Huddleston Elementary
  • Angela McMillan, Inman Elementary
  • Gary Smith, Kedron Elementary
  • Heather Gruszka, North Fayette Elementary
  • Brittan Parker, Oak Grove Elementary
  • Lynn Atchison, Peachtree City Elementary
  • Shannon Cope, Peeples Elementary
  • Jamie Hertha, Robert J. Burch Elementary
  • Kacie Reddig, Sara Harp Minter Elementary
  • Maegan Stalvey, Spring Hill Elementary
  • Laurie Kufchak, Bennett’s Mill Middle
  • Christina Rufenacht, Flat Rock Middle
  • Bob Rice, J.C. Booth Middle
  • Ashley Burnett, Rising Starr Middle
  • Kim Broome, Whitewater Middle
  • Jennifer D’Amato, Fayette County High
  • Katherine Turner, McIntosh High
  • Kelly Gallman, Sandy Creek High
  • Nick Gillies, Starr’s Mill High
  • Nick Castagna, Whitewater High
  • Joanne Pringle-Shakoor, The Alternative Program
  • Mary Tuck, Open Campus