First responders honored at Fayetteville Council meeting


Sgt. Keith Whiteside with the Fayette County Sheriff’s Office and Chief Michael Matthews with the Fayetteville Fire Department received the VFW Post 3650 Public Servants Award at the Jan. 17 meeting of the Fayetteville City Council. Pictured, front row from left, are Whiteside, Sheriff Barry Babb, VFW Commander Ronald Stubbs, Matthews and Fayetteville Fire Chief Alan Jones; second row from left, council members Scott Stacy and Kathaleen Brewer, Mayor Ed Johnson and council members Harlan Shirley and Rich Hoffman. Photo/Ben Nelms.