Local runners receive ATC honors

Local runners receive ATC honors

Three high school runners from Fayette County have been named to the 2017 All-Metro cross-country team.

The Atlanta Track Club announced the 21 boys and 21 girls selected for the team last week.

Among the Fayette honorees are Nick Nyman of Starr’s Mill, the individual AAAAA winner in the state meet; Megan Uszynski of McIntosh, who came in second at state; and Zach Jaeger of McIntosh, who was third.

Coaches, parents, fans, fellow athletes and the general public now have the opportunity to vote on which runners receive first-, second- and third-team honors and which runners will be named Most Oustanding Male and Female cross-country athletes for 2017.

The 42 athletes who represent 10 counties and 28 high schools, were selected based on criteria including performance at the state meet and other major meets over the course of the season. Coaches and the community vote online through Nov. 17 to rank the selected athletes among the three teams. The top-ranked male and female athlete will be named Most Outstanding Cross Country Athlete. Nominations for the Coach’s Dedication Awards will also be accepted through this form.

“At Atlanta Track Club, we have the opportunity to watch these young, promising athletes grow and improve throughout their high school careers,” said Rich Kenah, Atlanta Track Club’s executive director. “It is an honor to be a part of their running and athletic journey.”

Each of the All-Metro athletes will be recognized for their extraordinary seasons at the All-Metro Banquet, and first-team All-Metro honorees will receive a $500 scholarship from Atlanta Track Club. The 2017 All-Metro High School Cross Country Banquet will be Dec. 5 at The Stave Room in Atlanta. It will be hosted by 2004 Olympian and NBC broadcaster Carrie Tollefson. The student athletes who have been named Most Outstanding Cross Country Athlete will be announced at the banquet as well as the winners of the Coach’s Dedication Awards.