Barrow is finalist for Ga. Sup’t. of the Year

Fayette County School Superintendent Dr. Joseph Barrow is one of four finalists in the running to be named Georgia’s 2017 Superintendent of the Year.
The Sept. 14 announcement came from the Georgia School Superintendents Association (GSSA), according to school system spokesperson Melinda Berry-Dreisbach.
“This marks the second consecutive year that Barrow has been named a finalist for the state’s highest honor bestowed to a superintendent,” Berry-Dreisbach said. “A total of 17 nominations were received from throughout the state for this year’s competition.”
Berry-Dreisbach said the finalists will now vie for the title of Georgia Superintendent of the Year, with that person representing the state in the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) 2017 National School Superintendent of the Year competition.
Each finalist will complete the AASA Superintendent of the Year online application from which the GSSA selection committee will choose a winner, said Berry-Dreisbach.
The other candidates vying for the award include Dr. Jason Branch of Oconee County Schools; Dr. Allen McCannon of Madison County Schools; and Dr. Gordon Pritz of Douglas County Schools.
All four finalists will be recognized at the GSSA Fall Bootstrap Conference in Athens on Oct. 19.
The winner will be announced at the GSSA/Georgia School Boards Association winter conference in early December.