Kedron wins Science Olympiad


Young scientists from elementary schools across the Fayette County School District recently converged on Whitewater High to compete in the Fayette County Elementary Science Olympiad.

Science Olympiad is designed to encourage students to explore new and challenging ways of solving problems as part of a team. Teams of students in grades 3-5 competed in events that focused on STEM (science, technology, engineering, math).

Awards were given to the top six teams: Kedron Elementary (first place), Crabapple Lane Elementary (second place), Braelinn Elementary (third place), Sara Harp Minter Elementary (fourth place), Robert J. Burch Elementary (fifth place), and Huddleston Elementary (sixth place).

The teams in first through third place (Kedron, Crabapple Lane, and Braelinn) will advance to the Georgia Elementary Science Olympiad taking place May 14 on the campus of Kennesaw State University. Georgia hosts one of the largest competitions with 65 teams participating.

Science Olympiad is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce, and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers.

Pictured with the Kedron team are Tsubasa Kitada, Nick Enck, Campbell Leatherman, Drew Combs, Sophia Farinacci, Joseph Enck, Makayla Coffield, Caroline Roshelli, Caelyn Grimes, Allie Rose, Nikhil Chikhliker, Matthew Woods, Jacob Hossler, Eli Kilgore, Nitish Sudhaker, Sydney Watton, Tito Alofe and Sunanya Guthikonda.

Pictured with the Crabapple Lane team are Sharaf Kabir, Shae Staples, Marc van Zyl, Rory Olsen, Will McDonell, Tori Taylor, Zachary Niederfringer, Julian Gevertz, Sofia Fuenmayor Diaz, Alex Hunt, Eva Launay-Fallasse, Mitchell Watt, Roshan Kolachina, Sadid Kabir, Luke Tanner, Tyler LeRouzes, Drew Lakly, Emmett Fisher, Brielle Gradek, Lana Spraley, coach Pat Costa, Patrick Ogle, Chris Jones, Ian Fisher, Matthew Madison, Matthew Villiger and coach Natalie Schmitt.

Pictured with the Braelinn team are Sophia Hibbs, Sarah Bender, Sarah Wilkin, Emily Steele, Emily Wilkin, Mizuki Takahashi, Ava Newell, Cameron Kosko, Amani Mehta,  Eden O’Neal,  Maggie Kluemper, coach Paige Beaty, Evan Bartek, Anthony Natarella, Ginger Swayne, Carsen McEver, Zack Berger, Landon Justice, Tate Colson, Kari Smith, Riley Munoz, Thomas Stone, Jahnvi Nakrani and Aashvi Nakrani.