Record number of Fayette students in ASYO


The number of band students from Fayette County Schools making the cut to perform with the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra (ASYO) has nearly doubled from a year ago and is a record-breaking number for the school system.

A total of 12 students were accepted into the 2015-2016 season of the ASYO, compared to seven last year. The students are Jennifer Deng, violin, J.C. Booth Middle; Jefferson Downs, cello, McIntosh High; Wilfred Farquharson, viola, Fayette County High; Tyler Lane, French horn, McIntosh High; Errol Rhoden, III, tuba, Fayette County High; Kalli Edwards, bassoon, Fayette County High; Rachel Anders, flute, McIntosh High; Parker Olson, percussion, McIntosh High; Michael Dehan, percussion, McIntosh High; Alisha Zamore, clarinet, McIntosh High; Steven Lukehart, trumpet, McIntosh High; and Ryan Kontos, bass (first alternate), Whitewater High.

Teachers of these students include Amanda Moran (orchestra), J.C. Booth Middle; Patti Davis (orchestra), Fayette County High; Dr. Myra Rhoden (band), Fayette County High; James Hagberg (orchestra), McIntosh High; Barbara Baker (band), McIntosh High; and Darilyn Esterline (orchestra), Whitewater High.

Established in 1974, the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra provides Atlanta’s most talented and dedicated students an outlet to perform masterworks. The orchestra presents a three-concert series each year, and members have exclusive invitations to participate in readings and master classes with top artists in the instrumental music industry.