Seniors earn merit scholarships


Two graduating seniors from Fayette County High and Starr’s Mill High schools have been named corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners in the 60th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Both Janeen Thomas of Fayette County High and Kevin Hillinski of Starr’s Mill High are recipients of the National Merit Eaton Scholarship. Eaton is a manufacturer of advanced technology products, serving the transportation and industrial markets.

Janeen has identified pediatric neurosurgery as her probable career field; Kevin is considering electrical engineering.

More than 1,000 distinguished high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards financed by about 200 corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

Scholars were selected from students who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition, and met criteria of their scholarship sponsors. Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who are residents of communities the company serves, or who plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage.

Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study, and provide annual stipends from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice.