Tyrone’s Sandy Creek High School wins Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award


Good sportsmanship stands as one of the most important principles a person can exhibit, according to the directors and employees at Coweta-Fayette Electric Membership Corporation (EMC), which recently honored Sandy Creek High School in Tyrone with the 2010 Georgia High School Association’s Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award.

Mary Ann Bell, the electric co-op’s Vice President of Marketing, presented the sportsmanship trophy to coaches and athletes at the high school on Nov. 4. The award represents good conduct exhibited during the 2009-10 school year.

“We are pleased to award the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award to Sandy Creek High School,” said Bell. “This school’s students, spectators and teammates have continually exhibited good sportsmanship and character, both on the field and in the stands.”

Introduced in 2006 and sponsored by Georgia’s electric cooperatives and the Georgia High School Association (GHSA), the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award promotes sportsmanship at competitive events. The award honors the sportsmanship of student athletes, as well as that of fellow students, parents, coaches and spectators, making the trophy a tribute to the entire school community.

“The attributes of good sportsmanship fall in line with the principles by which cooperatives operate and live by, therefore Coweta-Fayette EMC is proud to support this initiative,” said CEO Anthony “Tony” Sinclair.

Georgia’s electric cooperatives have sponsored GHSA championship events for 11 years and look forward to promoting sportsmanship at all GHSA competitive events.

“Our EMC principles stress important values, such as cooperation and teamwork, which are just as relevant on the high school playing field as they are to co-op employees in the workplace,” said Sinclair.

Coweta-Fayette EMC is a consumer-owned cooperative providing electricity and related services to over 74,000 member accounts in Coweta, Fayette, Heard, South Fulton, Clayton, Spalding, Troup and Meriwether Counties.