Coweta’s youth leaders sworn in for 2010-11


Members of the 2010-2011 Newnan Youth Council were sworn in last week. The purpose of the Newnan Youth Council is to provide a means for the high school youth of Newnan and Coweta County to learn about government, participate in the process, and to represent and articulate the needs of the community’s youth.

The overall purpose, based on the expressed need for youth programs, activities, events, continuing education, and youth involvement in community and governmental activities within the City of Newnan, is:

•To build leadership experience and civic responsibility that will benefit each member’s academic record and enhance their competitiveness in higher educational endeavors.

•To create a climate of public awareness and responsibility for meeting the needs and concerns of the City’s youth.

•To assist the citizens and youth in the City to understand effective communication, appreciate differences within the City’s youth, and be involved with community issues.

•To promote youth involvement in government and civic duties to become productive citizens in the future.

•To provide the means by which the City’s youth can be heard from and included in government.

•To plan, sponsor, and coordinate appropriate youth programs, activities, and events in the City of Newnan.

Seated in the front row is Kiera Patterson. First row (from left to right)- Morgan Chandler, Jordin Dombrowsky, Aleisha Kahn, Whitney Kirkpartick, Peyton Shelnutt, Amanda Frederking, Kathryn Martin, and Cheney Thomasson. Second row- Alex Jordan, Meredith Yarbrough, Samantha Marvin, Trishia Espinoza, Michael Nix, and Linday Knox. Third row- Garrett Floyd, Hunter Hasty, Margaret Rose Kazmierczak, Kate Lawrence, John Ransom, T’Erica Dawson, and Commissioner Loula Davenport. Fouth row- Bharath Shankar, Commissioner Chip Gordon, Ben Bockenek, Maria Velez, Tre Wheat, and Andrew Copeland. Back row- Commissoners Martha Van Drew, Jerome Kirkland, Smith Pass, Rodney Cage, and Mike Furbush (the city liaison to Newnan Youth Activities Commission).