Fayette County Schools announce nominees for 2024 Teacher of the Year


Twenty-five teachers from Fayette County Public Schools have been nominated to represent their school in the 2024 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition.

The teachers were selected by their peers through a voting process that took place at the schools. Each school-level teacher of the year is now a nominee for the 2024 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition and will complete an essay-style application about their teaching styles, objectives, and classroom initiatives.

The applications will be rated by a three-person panel consisting of last year’s Fayette County Teacher of the Year winner, Michelle Shaw of Spring Hill Elementary, and two retired educators.

The teachers with the three top scores will become finalists in the competition and will take part in a final judging stage that includes an on-site classroom visit and interview with the judges. The winner will be announced at the annual Fayette County Teacher of the Year Ceremony.

The following teachers are nominees for the 2024 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition:

Laura Ellyson, Braelinn Elementary

Sparkle Stanford, Cleveland Elementary

Amy Snyder, Crabapple Lane Elementary

Ashley Travis, Fayetteville Elementary

Kristi Shrode, Huddleston Elementary

Janel Shuler, Inman Elementary

Cheryl Reaves, Kedron Elementary

Laura Patak, North Fayette Elementary

Liz Bunker, Oak Grove Elementary

Brandi Thornton, Peachtree City Elementary

Elaine Wingfield, Peeples Elementary

Jessica Mullis, Robert J. Burch Elementary

Kristi Soong, Sara Harp Minter Elementary

Dorothy Shepard, Spring Hill Elementary

Dedra Carby, Bennett’s Mill Middle

Roderick Sylvester, Flat Rock Middle

Marisa McCarty, JC Booth Middle

Ann Didier, Rising Starr Middle

Ryan Frisch, Whitewater Middle

Dr. Brian Harmon, Fayette County High

Casey Kreitner, McIntosh High

Ashlee Jackson, Sandy Creek High

Rob Bell, Starr’s Mill High

Emily Stallings, Whitewater High

Kenneth James, Fayette LIFE Academy

— Article provided by the Fayette County School System.