2022 REACH Georgia scholars announced

Ten Fayette County middle school students got a head start on their college education by winning a $10,000 REACH Georgia Scholarship.

Ten Fayette County middle school students got a head start on their college education by winning a $10,000 REACH Georgia Scholarship.

A total of 10 winners were announced, with each of the county’s five middle schools represented.

Bennett’s Mill’s winner is Alzahria Joyner. Representing Flat Rock Middle are Jeremiah Antony, Jocelyn Saldierna-Cardinas, and Madisyn Gates-Phams. Representing JC Booth Middle are Alyson Garduno and Edwin Romero. Representing Rising Starr Middle are Sophia Johnson and Ava Cuthbertson. Whitewater Middle’s winner is Arianna Mitchell.

REACH Georgia is a statewide needs-based mentorship and scholarship program. It provides academically promising students who have a demonstrated financial need with the academic, social, and financial support to help make their dreams of college and a bright future a reality.

REACH Georgia applicants fill out an application in the spring of 7th grade, and recipients are selected and announced in fall of their 8th grade year. In a fall signing ceremony, scholars sign a contract along with their parent/guardian to maintain a 2.5 HOPE GPA, continue to have good behavior and school attendance, and to meet with a volunteer mentor and academic coach throughout high school.

When REACH Georgia scholars graduate, they receive a $10,000 scholarship which can be used at any HOPE-eligible college, university, or technical school in Georgia. Many of these students may be first in their family to go to college.

The REACH Georgia scholarship program is possible thanks to the generous support of many. For each scholar, $4,000 is raised in contributions from local businesses and the community, with the remainder coming from the state REACH Georgia Foundation funding.

To help support the program for the coming year, contact Fayette County Education Foundation treasurer Melinda Berry-Dreisbach via email at berrydreisbach.melinda@fcboe.org or call 770-460-3535. Donations in the form of checks or money orders can be mailed to Melinda Berry-Dreisbach, Fayette County Board of Education, 205 LaFayette Avenue, Fayetteville, Georgia 30214. Please indicate on the check or money order that the donation is for the REACH Georgia Scholarship.

Donors can also make a donation online through PayPal by going to the FCBOE website (www.fcboe.org), clicking the “About Us” tab, and selecting the “Fayette County Education Foundation” link from the dropdown menu. Once on the foundation’s website, click the “Giving” tab and scroll to the bottom of the page to the PayPal link. From the dropdown menu, select “REACH Georgia Scholarship” to direct your donation.