Verified residency rules catch 15 students

A total of 15 students were withdrawn from Fayette County schools after the deadline imposed Dec. 16 by the Fayette County Board of Education took effect.
Prior to Dec. 16 there were 80 students whose residency in Fayette County had not been verified. That’s a significant departure from the 2,653 listed in a report to the board Sept. 19.
That number had dropped to fewer than 1,000 by the Oct. 3 board meeting. By that time the school system said it had mailed 1,700 warning letters in English and Spanish, two copies per household. The system also made robo-calls and system employees made home visits.
Students withdrawn from several schools around the county included:
• Fayette County High – 2
• Fayetteville Elementary – 3
• Flat Rock Middle – 1
• McIntosh High – 1
• North Fayette Elementary – 3
• Sandy Creek High – 3
• Minter Elementary – 1
• Whitewater Middle – 1
The school board on Dec. 12 on a split vote approved the withdrawal of 100 students whose residency could not be verified after repeated attempts. The board earlier in the year had required that student residency be verified, the first time that had occurred since 2011.