GMVHOF names 2015 inductees


Fifteen Georgians selected for induction into the Georgia Military Veterans Hall of Fame were recently announced. It is the third annual class inducted since the Hall’s inception in 2013.

The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to honor Georgia military veterans; to educate Georgia citizens, especially young Americans, of the sacrifices for freedom; and to inform the public of inductee’s outstanding accomplishments. Up to 15 Georgia military veterans will be inducted into the hall of fame each year and awarded the Hall of Fame Medallion during an annual banquet in their honor. Up to 10 are selected exclusively for valorous military performance; up to five for extraordinary achievements; and up to five are selected by an independent selection board for their combined military/civilian service to our community, state, and nation.

The Class of 2015 consists of 10 members selected for valor, four for service and one for achievement. Three of the selects are to be inducted posthumously.

The inductees include U.S. Army Col. Fred Orr Jackson of Fayetteville (valor, World War II, posthumous inductee).

The third Annual Georgia Military Veterans’ Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Banquet is Saturday, Nov. 7, beginning at 6 p.m. at Saint Luke Ministry Center, 301 11th Street in Columbus. This annual event is open to the public. Individual tickets may be purchased for $55 each, or a table of eight (8) can be purchased for $400.  Reserved seats/tables, or a donation, may be made through PayPal by visiting or by mailing a check to Georgia Military Veterans’ Hall of Fame, PO Box 475, Pine Mountain, GA 31822.

The physical location of the Hall of Fame will be on the Capital grounds in the Floyd Department of Veterans Services Building, and is scheduled to officially open later this calendar year.