Election to fill Dist. 5 seat is Tuesday


After a contentious few months filled with 2-2 votes by the Fayette County Commission, the issue could be settled after next Tuesday’s special election in District 5 to replace the late Commissioner Pota Coston.

Shortly after her death, the legal wranglings began about whether the election would be at-large or district voting to fill her position.

When the dust had settled, federal Judge Timothy Batten decreed only residents who live in the district could cast votes.

Candidates in the race include two Republicans, Angela Bean and Peyton Riley, along with one Democrat, Charles Rousseau.

Advanced voting continues through Sept. 11 at the Fayette County Administrative Complex and at Tyrone Town Hall. Nine precincts will be open in District 5 on Sept. 15 for voters to cast their ballots. If a runoff is needed, it will take place Oct. 13.