Fayette musicians fill out AYWS


High school band students from Fayette County Public Schools make up almost 10 percent of the 2015-16 Atlanta Youth Wind Symphony (AYWS).

Just over 300 students tried out for only 85 seats. A total of eight students from Fayette County High, McIntosh High, and Whitewater High schools were selected for this year’s ensemble.

They are Rachel Anders, flute, McIntosh High; Jonah Negusse, flute, Fayette County High; Anthony Weaver, bassoon, Fayette County High; Alisha Zamore, clarinet, McIntosh High; Pearce Kramer, clarinet, McIntosh High; Leslie Sullivan, contralto clarinet, Whitewater High; Will Talley, trombone, Fayette County High; Errol Rhoden III, tuba, Fayette County High.

Auditions were open to both public and private school students in grades 9-12 in the following areas: flute/piccolo, oboe/English horn, bassoon/contrabassoon, clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone (all), trumpet, horn, trombone, euphonium, tuba, percussion, piano, string bass, and harp.

The AYWS was founded in 1988 as the premier honor wind ensemble for high school youth in the Atlanta metropolitan area. Its purposes are to provide a positive musical experience in an artistic environment for advanced instrumentalists in wind and percussion performance, and to supplement the outstanding music education programs in the public and private schools in the region.

Membership has been drawn from approximately 75 different high schools in Barrow, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Houston, Oconee, Paulding, Pickens, and Rockdale counties.