Qualifying opens for local, regional political posts


    Qualifying starts Monday for local and regional offices in the primary and general elections that will be held later this year.

    Interested candidates must qualify with their respective party, not at the county’s elections office.

    The Fayette County Republican Party will be open at its headquarters at 174 N. Glynn Street in Fayetteville from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday and Friday from 9 a.m. to noon. For information call 770-716-1545.

    The Fayette County Democratic Party is asking candidates to schedule an appointment to qualify with them Monday through Friday by sending an email to admin@fayettedems.org. Participants are asked to put the word “qualifying” in the subject line and explain which seat they will be seeking. For information call committee chair Dawn Mabra at 404-433-0072.

    Prospective candidates who have questions about which district they live in for the new county commission and board of education posts on the new district map established by the federal court may call the county’s elections headquarters at 770-305-5408.

    Up for election are the Post 3 county commission seat held by Steve Brown and the Post 5 commission seat held by Allen McCarty. Also up for election are the Post 4 board of education seat held by Dr. Bob Todd and the Post 5 board of education seat held by Leonard Presberg.

    Brown and Presberg have said they will seek re-election while Todd has said he will not seek re-election.

    Also up for election are several state legislative seats whose districts include Fayette County. District 16 Senator Ronnie Chance has said he will not seek re-election. As of press time four Republican candidates have announced they would seek that seat including Fayetteville attorney David Studdard, Tyrone businessman and Tea Party activist Marty Harbin, Griffin attorney William “Bill” Johnston and attorney James W. Clifton, who practices in Newnan but is a lifelong resident of Fayette County.