Board member Smith elected to statewide post


Fayette County Board of Education member Terri Smith has been elected as a District Director for the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA).

As a District Director, Smith will serve on the association’s Board of Directors representing GSBA’s District 6, which includes the school systems of Bremen City, Carroll County, Carrollton City, Clayton County, Coweta County, Douglas County, Fayette County, Griffin-Spalding County, Heard County, Henry County, Meriwether County, Pike County, Thomaston-Upson County, and Troup County.

District Directors are elected for three-year terms at district meetings by a majority of the district members present and voting. The Board of Directors manages the affairs and business transactions of the association, and employs the executive director.

“We are extremely pleased to have Terri Smith join our Board of Directors,” said GSBA Executive Director Jeannie M. (Sis) Henry. “This is an important role and one that demands high levels of leadership.”

GSBA is an advocate of public education and supports the uniquely American tradition of citizen control of public school systems. GSBA is a voluntary, statewide organization that provides professional services and training to the state’s local boards of education, and represents the collective resolve of local boards in the governance of public education. GSBA has provided service to public education in Georgia for over 50 years.