Coweta schools announce “Teacher of the Year” from each school


The 2010 Teachers of the Year for each of Coweta County’s 31 public schools have been chosen by their fellow teachers. All will be honored at the April 27 Coweta County Teacher of the Year Program at 7 p.m. at the Centre for Performing and Visual Arts.

The 2010 Teachers of the Year from each school are:

From elementary schools: Laxmi Iyengar, Special Education (Arbor Springs); Nicol Weaver, 3rd Grade (Arnco-Sargent); Margaret Wood, English for Speakers of Other Languages (Atkinson); Carrie Hulsey, Kindergarten (Brooks); Terri Oliver, 4th Grade (Canongate); Deanna “Dee” Sluk, 1st Grade (Eastside); Ashley Davis, 1st Grade (Elm Street); Nikki Rutledge, 4th Grade (Glanton); Janice Martino, 1st Grade (Jefferson Parkway); Jennifer Willingham, 1st Grade (Moreland); Keri Davis, 5th Grade (Newnan Crossing); Caroline Arnall, Kindergarten (Northside); Sarah Milligan, 3rd Grade (Poplar Road); Dana DeGennaro, Kindergarten (Ruth Hill); Pamela Hendrix, REACH (Thomas Crossroads); Ashley Nelson, 5th Grade (Welch); Amy Smith, 5th Grade (Western); Catherine Tyler-Cochran, 1st Grade (White Oak); Natalie Sibley, 5th Grade (Willis Road).

From middle schools: Connie Parmer, 6th – 7th Grade Gifted Science (Arnall); Todd Borngesser, 6th Grade Social Studies (East Coweta); Chad Loftin, Art (Evans); Karin Gordon, 6th – 8th Grade Special Needs (Lee); Nancy Williams, 6th – 8th Grade Social Skills (Madras); Shawn Atkinson, 8th Grade Math (Smokey Road); Jennifer Bailey, 6th – 8th Grade (Maggie Brown).

From high schools: Melissa Barronton, Math (East Coweta); Debbie Wood, U.S. and World History (CEC); Angie Whitlock, Psychology / AP Psychology (Newnan); Diane Dombrowski, English (Northgate); Michael Wilson, English (Winston Dowdell).

Coweta’s Teachers of the Year are chosen each year from among certified classroom teachers in Coweta County Schools, pre-kindergarten through 12th grade, including special education, physical education, art, music, and media specialists. They are selected by their peers for the quality of their teaching, professional development, teaching philosophies and methods, community involvement, contributions to education, and their ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn.

Coweta schools Public Information Officer Dean Jackson said the county’s 2010 Teacher of the Year – who will also serve as the Coweta County nominee for state Teacher of the Year – will be announced at the April 27 program.

Fifth Grade Teacher Angela Brown, of Ruth Hill Elementary School, was chosen last April as the school system’s 2009 Coweta County Teacher of the Year.

Jackson said the Coweta County School System is the only school system in Georgia with three county nominees chosen as Georgia Teacher of the Year, including Lorraine Johnson, Nancy Royal and Jamie Lipscomb. There have also been thirteen Coweta County semi-finalists for Georgia teacher of the year since 1986.